Let’s Talk Emmys.

Posted on July 22, 2012 by

0



It’s that time of year again, folks. That glorious time where we wait in anticipation to see which one of our favorite shows has made it through the brutal critic showdown. It’s that time of year that makes me feel a bit warm inside. However, if you’re not a nerd, like me, you just refer to it as Emmy nominations, and if you really don’t care—yes, it’s that one with the TV shows.

The 2012 nominations came out Thursday morning and some of my personal favorites were on the list. Jim Parsons, who portrays Sheldon Cooper on the CBS show Big Bang Theory, received his fifth nomination in the Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series.  Joining him this year from the show is first time nominee, Mayim Bialik for her role as Amy Farrah Fowler.  Bialik is also the first female cast member to be nominated for the show in Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series.

Modern Family had huge success with this year’s nominations, scoring 14 nominations overall, but most impressively with four nominations in the same category for Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series going to Ed O’Neil , Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Ty Burrell and Eric Stonestreet. New Girl was nominated five times, including another nomination for Zooey Deschanel.  HBO’s new series Girls was nominated for five Emmys as well.

Although I was satisfied with the nominations this year, mainly because Game of Thrones is on the list more than once this time, I couldn’t help but notice a few people missing from the bunch.  Most notable, for me, was Glee.

Before you go straight to turning up your nose at my poor taste in television, or my interest in Top 40 cover songs, let me say that Season 1 of Glee was great. So great, it received nineteen Emmy and four Golden Globes nominations. This year, following the end of season three, I think it is evident that Glee has fallen from its ‘award season’ pedestal.  As a viewer I hope this snub sends the right message to the writers.

Some other notable snubs include Community, a fan favorite, and no recognition to Hugh Laurie for his last season on House M.D.

